Multilevel Dialogue on Just Transition hosted by the European Committee of the Regions


Please note that we recommend using Google Chrome browser for the viewing of this session, in full-screen mode.


The Multilevel Dialogue on Just Transition is being hosted by the European Committee of the Regions in cooperation with the European Commission. The aim of the Dialogue is to promote exchange between the different levels of governance in the process of just transition throughout Europe. The European Union has to make the most out of the Just Transition Fund, and the participation of cities and regions is of key importance to its success.

This session will look into the next steps for Just Transition with contributions from the European Investment Bank, the European Commission and national authorities, while the second panel will focus on regional cross-border cooperation.

The Dialogue is taking place in the form of a hybrid event, both online and in person in the premises of the European Committee of the Regions. Interpretation is available from and into CS-EN-DE-FR-PL.

More information on the session can be found here. You may also use the direct streaming link.

Agenda (All times are in CEST)

Interpretation CS-EN-DE-FR-PL

Moderator: Katie Treadwell

10:00- 10:05: Welcome by Nathalie Sarrabezolles (FR/PES), chairwoman of the Commission for Territorial Cohesion Policy and EU Budget (COTER), European Committee of the Regions

10:05-11.00: 1st Roundtable Discussion: The Future of Just Transition

  • Hubert Strauss, Projects Directorate – Regional Development Division, European Investment Bank
  • Peter Berkowitz, Director for Policy, DG REGIO, European Commission
  • Andrey Novakov (BG/EPP), Member of the European Parliament
  • Thomas Schmidt (DE/EPP), Minister for Regional Development, Free State of Saxony, Germany

11.00-11.50: 2nd Roundtable discussion: Regional Cross-Border Cooperation in Just Transition

  • Karl-Heinz Lambertz (BE/PES), President of AEBR
  • Nathalie Verschelde, European Commission
  • Pavel Branda (CZ/ECR), Deputy Mayor of Radlo, Chair of the Cross-Border intergroup in the CoR
  • Bernd Lange (DE/EPP), district representative Görlitz, Germany

11:50-12:00: Conclusions

  • Christof Kienel, Head of unit, CoR COTER Commission