Accessible Audiobooks

Friday, June 12, 2020 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM
DPUB Summit
Accessibility

Information

18:00 CEST (Paris, Madrid), 12:00 PM EDT (New York), 9 am PDT (Vancouver)

The ability to create content that is “born accessible” (or usable by everyone) doesn’t just apply to ebooks. Audiobooks are capable of being born accessible too. Accessible digital audiobooks have been around since the creation of the DAISY audiobook format over two decades ago, and now, in 2020, there is finally an audiobook specification that will bring the same usability to a mainstream audience. This video presentation covers what basic features are needed to make an audiobook that works well for everyone, and how the new audiobook specification allows you to check all those boxes.