WATCH ON-DEMAND: ESI Africa and SAIPPA Digital Dialogue: A guide to wheeling frameworks as a realistic energy solution

Thursday, October 22, 2020 11:30 AM to 12:30 PM
ESI Africa Agenda
Digital Dialogue
Battery StoragePolicy and Regulationon-demandSolar Home SystemsMunicipalitiesPublic Sector

Information

10:30 GMT 11:30 WAT 12:30 SAST 13:30 EAT

Wheeling frameworks are not that common but are being used to good effect by some IPPs and loads. Wheeling offers generators and buyers the opportunity to enter into bilateral PPAs, using Eskom and/or municipalities’ networks for delivering the power.  

NERSA have a set of regulatory rules that structures wheeling relationships entitled “Regulatory Rules on Network Charges for the Transportation of Energy”. These were published in March 2012. Other statutes provide for non-discriminatory access to the networks to allow bilateral trading to take place. Eskom has a well-established methodology to handle wheeling, however, the application in municipalities is not standardised. 

This webinar will cover some of the more important practical aspects of wheeling from the perspective of municipalities, Eskom and users.     

Moderator:

 Dave Long, Secretary-General, South African IPP Association     

Speakers: 

  • Keith Bowen, Wholesale Manager, Eskom Transmission  
  • Vally Padayachee, Strategic Advisor, AMEU  
  • Garth Greubel, CEO, Energy Exchange  
  • Andrew Carr, MD, Sebenzana